Client Posture vs Network Detective Pro: outside-in checks vs inside-the-network assessments
Network Detective Pro, from RapidFire Tools (a Kaseya company), and Client Posture both help MSPs turn security data into client-ready reports. They get that data in very different ways, and the difference decides which one fits a given job. There's no reason an MSP can't use both.
The short version
Client Posture works from a domain name and public information only. Its Security page lists exactly what it reads: DNS over HTTPS, certificate transparency logs, domain registration (RDAP) data, TLS handshake metadata, and one normal request to the homepage. It says Client Posture does not "port scan, brute-force paths, probe vulnerabilities, attempt logins, crawl beyond the homepage, or send exploit payloads." Nothing goes on the client's network, and no credentials are needed. Its playbook says plainly that it isn't "a penetration test, an internal vulnerability scanner, an agent, or a compliance certification."
The same scan feeds a branded Security Brief for prospects, and on Pro, a Good / Better / Best proposal priced from your Service Library that the client accepts online. Because it reads only public information, you can run it on a prospect before they've agreed to anything.
Network Detective Pro works from inside the network. RapidFire Tools describes it as using "non-intrusive data collectors, light-weight discovery agents, and powerful scanners." For a LAN scan, its help guide says to download the Data Collector and run it "on a PC on the target network" as an administrator, then give it domain credentials with administrative rights (or local admin credentials on a workgroup). In return, it sees things no outside check can: Active Directory, endpoints, Microsoft 365, SQL servers, AWS, and more, across a library RapidFire calls "One Hundred Reports."
Comparison table
| Client Posture | Network Detective Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| What it needs to start | A domain name | A Data Collector run on a PC on the target network, plus admin credentials for a full scan |
| Installs on the client network | No | The LAN Data Collector "does not install itself"; light-weight discovery agents are also available |
| Credentials | None | Domain admin (AD) or local admin (workgroup) for LAN scans |
| Scope | External, public signals: email authentication, TLS and HTTPS, security headers, domain records, certificate-log hostnames | Internal network, endpoints, AD, Azure AD, Microsoft 365, SQL, AWS; external vulnerability reports via VulScan or a "limited external vulnerability scan" |
| Safe on a prospect before they sign | Yes; public information only | Requires access to the prospect's network |
| Reports | Branded reports and Security Briefs in plain English | "One Hundred Reports and Presentations," including audIT sales presentations |
| Proposals the client accepts online | Yes (Pro) | Not stated publicly |
| Cyber insurance questionnaire | Yes, all plans | Not stated publicly |
| PSA / documentation integrations | HubSpot, HaloPSA, webhooks, REST API (Pro and Founding Partner) | PSA tickets and IT Glue, plus data from VulScan, Dark Web ID and Microsoft 365 |
| MCP server for AI assistants | Yes (Pro; Founding Partner without quote drafts) | We found no public mention of an MCP server |
| Public pricing | Starter $199/mo, Pro $399/mo, Founding Partner $1,999 one time | Not stated publicly ("Request a Quote") |
| Free option | Free scan, no signup; 7 days of Pro, no card | A "Try It For Free" link for the Cyberattack Risk Assessment |
Where Network Detective Pro is the better fit
- Deep internal assessments. If you need to know what's inside the network (Active Directory, endpoints, local security settings that deviate from Group Policy, or the Layer 2/3 network detail RapidFire's data sheet describes), you need something on the inside. Client Posture can't see any of that, and doesn't try.
- Documentation and onboarding. RapidFire positions its full detail reports, change reports and IT Glue integration for documenting client networks.
- Microsoft 365, Azure AD and AWS assessments that need authenticated access.
- Compliance work alongside Compliance Manager GRC, part of the same RapidFire family.
- A quick internal spot check without an install. RapidFire says its Cyberattack Risk Assessment can be run "by any end-user via a personal link" with "no installs."
Where Client Posture is the better fit
- Prospecting at scale. You can scan a list of prospect domains (150 prospect scans a month on Pro and Founding Partner) without asking anyone for access, then send a branded Brief built from what was verified.
- The first conversation. Client Posture only shows a fail when it has verified it. Anything it can't confirm is marked Unknown or Not tested, so a prospect never sees a false alarm with your logo on it.
- Going from findings to a signed proposal. On Pro, findings map to services in a 48-service library, and the client accepts a Good / Better / Best proposal online. Client Posture doesn't take the client's payment; your own payment link is shown after they accept.
- Email security and insurance season. SPF, DKIM, DMARC, MTA-STS and filtering checks, plus a 14-question insurance questionnaire where every answer is labeled by source.
Using them together
One way to combine them: lead with Client Posture's outside-in check to open the conversation, and once the client agrees to a paid assessment and grants access, run Network Detective Pro inside the network for the deep findings. The external check costs the prospect nothing and asks for nothing. The internal assessment is the paid next step.
Try the outside-in check
Scan a prospect's domain free →
No signup to scan. Public information only. When you're ready, 7 days of Pro, no card. See pricing →
Founding Partner: $1,999, one time. It includes 50 client domains with your logo and colors, weekly rescans and change alerts, unlimited Security Briefs (150 prospect scans a month), the Grow toolkit, the Policy library, a branded service menu, webhooks, the API, and MCP access (except quote drafts). Proposals and the Service Library require Pro. If you later subscribe to Pro, you pay $299/mo instead of $399 for as long as that subscription stays active. The offer is capped at 50 seats and closes Dec 15, 2026, or sooner if all 50 seats are claimed. See Founding Partner details →
FAQ
- Does Client Posture replace Network Detective Pro?
- No. Client Posture is a passive external check. It doesn't scan inside the network, use agents or credentials, or assess Active Directory or endpoints. Network Detective Pro does, from a Data Collector run on the client's network.
- Does Network Detective Pro need an agent?
- RapidFire says it uses "non-intrusive data collectors, light-weight discovery agents, and powerful scanners." Its LAN Scan guide says the Data Collector runs on a PC on the target network and "does not install itself."
- Can I run Client Posture on a prospect without permission?
- Client Posture reads only public information (DNS, certificate logs, domain registration, TLS metadata and one normal homepage request), with no port scans, logins or probes. Whether to tell a prospect beforehand is your call. Its playbook suggests explaining that you "only looked at public records."
- How much does Network Detective Pro cost?
- RapidFire Tools doesn't publish pricing. Its site offers "Request a Quote." Client Posture's prices are public: Starter $199/mo, Pro $399/mo, and Founding Partner $1,999 one time.
- Does either have an MCP server for AI assistants?
- Client Posture does, on Pro and on Founding Partner (without quote drafts). It reads your scans, findings and prospects, and never sends, accepts or deletes. We found no public mention of an MCP server for Network Detective Pro.
- Can I use both?
- Yes. They do different jobs: an external check to start the conversation, and an internal assessment once the client grants access.